Welcome to dickblick
The patented B2 Custom Frame Kit from Masterpiece takes the hassle out of building a stretcher frame. This complete kit includes everything you need to construct the best frame on the market. Kits larger than 36" include braces, but sizes 36" and smaller do not. Canvas is not included.
These kits include:
Click on the link below to download a pdf with diagrams of the brace structure for each kit size. Adobe Acrobat Reader is required.
Masterpiece B2 Stretcher Kits Bracing Plan (3.1 MB)
see also ...
® Masterpiece is a registered trademark.
Hint — click a thumbnail to enlarge.
Hint — click a thumbnail to enlarge.
(based on 9 reviews)
of respondents would recommend this to a friend.
Reviewed by 9 customers
Displaying reviews 1-9
Back to top
from ann arbor mi
Comments about Masterpiece B2 Stretcher Kit:
Not familiar with all kits for canvas stretching I found this a well put together quality gathering. Heavy duty bars, with braces and corner supports, were assembled with a trusty rubber mallet with little problem , a little thought going into assembling the bracing first and inserting the bars to it(so far as i see it). Have not assembled corner bracing yet but should be a no brainer. No warping issues here that I've found with other branding individual bars (heavy duty even)purchased in the past. The quality is factored into the pricing. ANd when has quality ever resulted in regret? Typically not a reviewer, but feel the product here deserved some objective feedback.
Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Was this review helpful? Yes / No
- You may also flag this review
By David S
from Oakland, Ca
If you want to stretch your own canvas you must get a good solid frame. This is it and easy to put together. Get a good stretcher pliers and at least en electric staple gun.
Sturdy and easy
By Sue the painter
from State Colege, PA
This stretcher kit is easy to assemble, extremely strong and can be ordered in your required size. It is the perfect answer to those of us who paint on big canvases that need to be very sturdy.
(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)
Wood quality is bad
from Westerville, OH
The stretcher bar kit was a complete disappointment. The quality of the wood is very poor. The wood breaks, splinters and gets dented when trying to get it together. The finish piece looks fragile and it is impossible to get the squares to 90º. I had to return it and get the heavy duty stretcher bars which are much stronger and better priced.
Bottom Line No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Merchant response: We are sorry to see that this kit did not work out for you. We hope that your replacement item meets your needs and that you are completely satisfied with your purchase.
(1 of 2 customers found this review helpful)
It came out warped
from Charlotte, NC
The first stretcher bar I've ever made was an 84" x 108" and it came out warped. Maybe I stretched the canvas wrong or maybe it should have dried for more days before I used it or maybe something else but I tried to follow the instructions as per what was sent and it is not straight. Now I have a giant warped painting. I have been doing large format so I don't know where to go if I don't go this way but maybe it is to building my own.
from Brooklyn, NY
Just to follow up on a previous review. The second kit came in with all pieces included. However two of the support braces were slightly short, meaning the interior bracing wouldn't reach both ends of the outer frame. Specifically, the middle brace was correctly 32", but the two attaching braces were only 30", adding up to only 92" instead of the necessary 96". Some extra quality control while packaging needs to done. The error wasn't apparent until everything was glued together so I'll have to engineer some kind of solution to fully brace all four sides. As it stands I still like the kit. Everything fits secure and square except for the brace length issue, which can be fixed , but I have to rate this one star this time around. Double check your pieces before assembling anything!
Merchant response: We apologize for the issues you encountered with this product. If you are not completely satisfied with the quality of the merchandise you receive, you are entitled to a full replacement or refund. We ask that you contact our Customer Service Department at 800-723-2787 within 30 days so that the exchange, refund, or credit transaction can be arranged to your satisfaction.
Everything you need
Having already assembled one 60x96 kit, I've recently ordered a second. These stretcher kits are fantastic for anyone working on a large scale. All the pieces were included in the box and fit together perfectly despite working on a carpeted floor with no prior experience joining corners. The included glue bottle is a nice touch, but to be safe I went with nicer Titebond III wood glue to ensure things held together. I didn't have a rubber mallet handy but every piece fit together well enough that only some gentle brute force was necessary. The cross braces are connected by notches rather than simply screwed together or placed end-to-end, which meant that once it was all glued together the frame was surprisingly rigid for it's size. As a testament to it's strength the finished canvas survived a cross country journey by UPS. I'm so impressed by the ease of assembly and durability that I didn't hesitate to buy another kit. If only the extra large sizes didn't carry an extra handling fee.
Excellent stretcher kit
By visionary artist
from Fairfield, IA
Well made, was perfect for my painting which is 60 x 60. I like the way the cross braces fit and the way the stretcher keys work in both the corners and on the braces.Also had excellent customer service when I called Masterpiece about some things.I'll use these for all my large paintings.
Get your act together
from Bloomington, IL
[...]No cross braces were included. Even the corner pieces required some additional support and glue. My customer didn't complain. But I'll think twice next time.
Merchant response: Blick attempts to ship every order correctly and free from problems or defects. However, these types of issues do arise occasionally. We apologize for this. Customers who receive incorrect or defective items should contact our Customer Service department via email or by calling (800) 723-2787 and we will work with you to rectify the situation.
Sorry, this item cannot be purchased on our web site at this time.
Please contact us at (800) 828-4548 if you have further questions on this product.
Please allow ADDITIONAL DELIVERY TIME for factory-shipped items.
Click here to view expected shipping dates, or call our Order Dept (800)-828-4548.
Copyright © 2015 Dick Blick Art Materials. All rights reserved.
Your cart is currently empty.
Your cart currently contains N item.
Dick Blick Art Materials®, Blick®, Blick Studio®, and Artists Pick Blick® are registered trademarks of Dick Blick Holdings Inc.
© Copyright 1999-2015 Dick Blick Holdings Inc. All rights reserved.